Nurtured Heart

I have been thinking a lot lately about the Nurtured Heart approach to parenting. Let me give a little background…

I am a therapist by trade and have spent the majority of my adult life either learning about psychology or practicing helping people deal with it! As time has gone on, I have been spending time in educational settings with students who have been identified as needing special education, largely due to emotional and behavioral concerns. I have been to trainings about the Nurtured Heart approach (created by Howard Glasser) and most of the time with the idea of helping the difficult child.
HOWEVER……………..
Now that I have amazing children of my own, I am seeing its value for much more than just the difficult child. My children are far from difficult! I am so blessed to have such caring and intelligent girls. What I want to say in this post is that Nurtured Heart is such a humanistic and positive way to deal with ANYONE in our lives. So many times, children hear all about what they are doing wrong… we seem to have a lot of time to focus on this and we so often seem to be missing all the times they are doing something right. Now, don’t be worried! I am not getting all “hokey” on you… this really works! When I express what I see my children doing right and why it is important, they beam! They show such pride in themselves for making a good choice. My 4 year old daughter said to me, “Mama, I love it when you catch me being good!” This is testimony enough for me to keep finding ways to nurture her heart which in turn, has been nurturing my heart!

Leave a Reply

